Skip to content

Pomelo Capital LLC

Follow

13F filer, CIK 1565772, NEW YORK, NY

Pomelo Capital LLC reported $1,042,239,000 across 74 holdings for the quarter ended 2018-09-30, in a 13F-HR filed 2018-11-14. Its ten largest share positions make up 68.86% of the portfolio.

Filed (acceptance time not in the bulk data set), ingested 13F-HR 0001565772-18-000005

Period
2018-09-30
Reported value
$1.04B
Holdings
74
Top 10 weight
68.86%
New
8
Sold out
14

Largest buys vs the previous quarter

SecurityShares changeApprox. value
GNC HLDGS INCadded+1,053,532$4.36M
GOGOadded+425,000$2.21M
BHCnew+60,000$1.54M
HLFnew+10,000$546K
TWITTER INCnew+15,000$427K

Ranked by the share change valued at this quarter's implied price (value over shares in the 13F). A position sold out is valued at the previous quarter's price, its last report.

Largest sells vs the previous quarter

SecurityShares changeApprox. value
Mallinckrodt Plcreduced-200,000-$5.86M
GMEexited-304,886-$4.44M
VALEANT PHARMACEUTICALS INTLexited-60,000-$1.39M
FCXexited-50,000-$863K
SANOFIexited-1,366,585-$683K

Ranked by the share change valued at this quarter's implied price (value over shares in the 13F). A position sold out is valued at the previous quarter's price, its last report.

Holdings, Q3 2018

Share positions as resolved from 13F-HR 0001565772-18-000005, largest first. % of portfolio is the value over $202,147,000, the sum of the share positions whose value is usable for ratios (method).

SecurityHistorySharesValue% of portfolioChangeLatest eventTimeline
GNC HLDGS INCGNC HLDGS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: 12,900 shares; 2017Q2: 284,827 shares; 2017Q3: 326,698 shares; 2017Q4: 653,039 shares; 2018Q1: 1,340,283 shares; 2018Q2: 1,166,394 shares; 2018Q3: 2,219,926 shares 2,219,926$9.19M4.55%+1,053,532
GOGOGOGO INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: not reported; 2017Q2: not reported; 2017Q3: not reported; 2017Q4: not reported; 2018Q1: not reported; 2018Q2: 50,000 shares; 2018Q3: 475,000 shares 475,000$2.46M1.22%+425,000Timeline
BHCBAUSCH HEALTH COS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: not reported; 2017Q2: not reported; 2017Q3: not reported; 2017Q4: not reported; 2018Q1: not reported; 2018Q2: not reported; 2018Q3: 60,000 shares 60,000$1.54M0.76%newTimeline
Mallinckrodt PlcMallinckrodt PlcQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: not reported; 2017Q2: not reported; 2017Q3: 8,000 shares; 2017Q4: 232,119 shares; 2018Q1: 72,245 shares; 2018Q2: 241,297 shares; 2018Q3: 41,297 shares 41,297$1.21M0.6%-200,000
UPBDUPBOUND GROUP INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: not reported; 2017Q2: not reported; 2017Q3: not reported; 2017Q4: not reported; 2018Q1: not reported; 2018Q2: 81,934 shares; 2018Q3: 81,934 shares 81,934$1.18M0.58%0Timeline
Whiting Petroleum CorporaWhiting Petroleum CorporaQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: not reported; 2017Q2: not reported; 2017Q3: not reported; 2017Q4: 35,750 shares; 2018Q1: 35,750 shares; 2018Q2: 20,550 shares; 2018Q3: 20,550 shares 20,550$1.09M0.54%0
CARAVIS BUDGET GROUP INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: not reported; 2017Q2: 50,000 shares; 2017Q3: 50,000 shares; 2017Q4: 40,000 shares; 2018Q1: 40,000 shares; 2018Q2: 30,860 shares; 2018Q3: 30,860 shares 30,860$992K0.49%0Timeline
CYHCOMMUNITY HEALTH SYS INC NEWQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: not reported; 2017Q2: 74,572 shares; 2017Q3: 74,572 shares; 2017Q4: 155,272 shares; 2018Q1: 205,272 shares; 2018Q2: 261,844 shares; 2018Q3: 261,844 shares 261,844$906K0.45%0Timeline
CENTURYLINK INCCENTURYLINK INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: not reported; 2017Q2: not reported; 2017Q3: not reported; 2017Q4: 128,400 shares; 2018Q1: 36,300 shares; 2018Q2: 36,300 shares; 2018Q3: 36,300 shares 36,300$770K0.38%0
HERTZ GLOBAL HLDGS INCHERTZ GLOBAL HLDGS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: not reported; 2017Q2: 70,000 shares; 2017Q3: not reported; 2017Q4: 55,000 shares; 2018Q1: 55,000 shares; 2018Q2: 42,429 shares; 2018Q3: 42,429 shares 42,429$693K0.34%0
YPFYPF SOCIEDAD ANONIMAQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: not reported; 2017Q2: not reported; 2017Q3: not reported; 2017Q4: not reported; 2018Q1: not reported; 2018Q2: 40,000 shares; 2018Q3: 40,000 shares 40,000$618K0.31%0Timeline
PENNEY J C INCPENNEY J C INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: 150,100 shares; 2017Q2: 2,617,935 shares; 2017Q3: 2,922,935 shares; 2017Q4: 4,380,406 shares; 2018Q1: 492,800 shares; 2018Q2: 104,358 shares; 2018Q3: 329,358 shares 329,358$547K0.27%+225,000
HLFHERBALIFE LTDQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: not reported; 2017Q2: not reported; 2017Q3: not reported; 2017Q4: not reported; 2018Q1: not reported; 2018Q2: not reported; 2018Q3: 10,000 shares 10,000$546K0.27%newTimeline
WEATHERFORD INTL INC ORD SHSWEATHERFORD INTL INC ORD SHSQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: 470,000 shares; 2017Q1: 470,000 shares; 2017Q2: 530,000 shares; 2017Q3: 590,000 shares; 2017Q4: 665,000 shares; 2018Q1: 655,000 shares; 2018Q2: 200,221 shares; 2018Q3: 200,221 shares 200,221$543K0.27%0
FRONTIER COMMUNICATIONS CORPFRONTIER COMMUNICATIONS CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: not reported; 2017Q2: not reported; 2017Q3: not reported; 2017Q4: not reported; 2018Q1: 51,000 shares; 2018Q2: 51,000 shares; 2018Q3: 75,000 shares 75,000$487K0.24%+24,000
TWITTER INCTWITTER INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: not reported; 2017Q2: not reported; 2017Q3: not reported; 2017Q4: not reported; 2018Q1: not reported; 2018Q2: not reported; 2018Q3: 15,000 shares 15,000$427K0.21%new
PSECPROSPECT CAP CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2016Q4: not reported; 2017Q1: not reported; 2017Q2: not reported; 2017Q3: not reported; 2017Q4: 225,000 shares; 2018Q1: 68,600 shares; 2018Q2: 40,340 shares; 2018Q3: 40,340 shares 40,340$296K0.15%0Timeline

Options

Puts and calls, as filed. The amount and value describe the underlying shares, not the option premium, so they stay out of % of portfolio (H5).

SecurityTypeAmountValueChange
RHRH COMput1,022,500$134M0
WEIGHT WATCHERS INTL INCWEIGHT WATCHERS INTL INC COMput1,651,300$119M+531,700
HLFHERBALIFE LTD COM SHSput1,977,800$108M-56,700
TSLATESLA INC COMput231,520$61.3M+2,000
NBISNEBIUS GROUP N.V. SHS CLASS Aput1,550,000$51M+775,000
BHCBAUSCH HEALTH COS INC Stockput1,760,000$45.2Mnew
NAVISTAR INTERNATIONALNAVISTAR INTERNATIONAL COMMON STOCKput976,500$37.6M0
CSIQCANADIAN SOLAR INC COMput1,217,200$28.2M0
Mallinckrodt PlcMallinckrodt Plc SHSput830,100$24.3M0
YPFYPF SOCIEDAD ANONIMA SPON ADR CL Dput1,430,000$22.1M+715,000
TWITTER INCTWITTER INC COMput750,000$21.3M0
CENTURYLINK INCCENTURYLINK INC COMput904,300$19.2M0
CXCEMEX SAB DE CV ADRput2,445,200$17.2M0
GNC HLDGS INCGNC HLDGS INC COM CL Aput3,916,600$16.2M+10,000
PANDORA MEDIA INCPANDORA MEDIA INC COMput1,678,400$16M0
UNITI GROUP INCUNITI GROUP INC COMput764,900$15.4M+40,000
PSECPROSPECT CAP CORP COMput1,829,900$13.4M0
CALIFORNIA RES CORPCALIFORNIA RES CORP COM NEWput339,200$12.5M0
GMEGAMESTOP CORP CL Aput709,200$10.8M0
Whiting Petroleum CorporaWhiting Petroleum Corpora COM NEWput196,600$10.4M+10,000
DISH NETWORK CORPORATIONDISH NETWORK CORPORATION CL Aput282,000$10.1M+35,000
GOGOGOGO INC COMput1,624,500$8.43M-5,000
UPBDUPBOUND GROUP INC Stockput577,800$8.31M0
THCTENET HEALTHCARE CORP Stockput227,800$6.48M0
MSGSMADISON SQUARE GRDN SPRT COR Stockcall18,500$5.83M0
GMEGAMESTOP CORP CL Acall300,000$4.58Mnew
SKTTANGER INC COMput127,600$2.92M0
GVAGRANITE CONSTR INC Stockput56,700$2.59Mnew
CYHCOMMUNITY HEALTH SYS INC NEW COMMON STOCKput611,500$2.12M0
AVON PRODS INCAVON PRODS INC COMcall633,600$1.39M0
FRONTIER COMMUNICATIONS CORPFRONTIER COMMUNICATIONS CORP COM NEWcall168,000$1.09M0
UNITED STATES STL CORP NEWUNITED STATES STL CORP NEW COMput25,700$783K0
MATMATTEL INC COMput45,000$707K0
OCWEN FINL CORPOCWEN FINL CORP COM NEWput148,000$583K0
TEEKAY CORPORATIONTEEKAY CORPORATION COMput71,400$481K0
GNC HLDGS INCGNC HLDGS INC COM CL Acall93,800$388K0
PENNEY J C INCPENNEY J C INC COMcall150,000$249K-150,000
SPWRQSUNPOWER CORP COMput32,800$239K0

Principal amounts

Notes and convertibles filed as a face amount (PRN). A face amount is never added to a share count (H6).

SecurityTypeAmountValueChange
TESLA INCTESLA INC NOTE 1.250% 3/0principal18,099,000$17.4M0
AK STL CORPAK STL CORP NOTE 5.000%11/1principal14,136,000$16.4M0
NAVISTAR INTL CORP NEWNAVISTAR INTL CORP NEW NOTE 4.750 4/1principal16,000,000$16.3M-4,500,000
TWITTER INCTWITTER INC NOTE 0.250% 9/1principal16,000,000$15.5M+3,000,000
YANDEX N.V.YANDEX N.V. 1.125% CNV BDS 15/12/18 USDprincipal15,264,000$15.2M0
RESTORATION HARDWARE HLDGS IRESTORATION HARDWARE HLDGS I NOTE 6/1principal11,500,000$13.9Mnew
HERBALIFE LTDHERBALIFE LTD NOTE 2.000% 8/1principal10,000,000$13M-10,000,000
RESTORATION HARDWARE HLDGS IRESTORATION HARDWARE HLDGS I DBCV 7/1principal9,500,000$11.8Mnew
CANADIAN SOLAR INCCANADIAN SOLAR INC NOTE 4.250% 2/1principal10,660,000$10.6M0
PANDORA MEDIA INCPANDORA MEDIA INC NOTE 1.750%12/0principal7,882,000$7.63M+382,000
WEATHERFORD INTL LTDWEATHERFORD INTL LTD NOTE 5.875% 7/0principal8,000,000$7.55M0
CEMEX SAB DE CVCEMEX SAB DE CV NOTE 3.720% 3/1principal6,500,000$6.56M0
PROSPECT CAPITAL CORPORATIONPROSPECT CAPITAL CORPORATION NOTE 4.750% 4/1principal5,624,000$5.68M0
GNC HoldingsGNC Holdings CONV BONDprincipal7,000,000$5.42M-4,819,000
ARVINMERITOR INCARVINMERITOR INC CORPORATE OBLIGprincipal4,500,000$4.64M0
CEMEX SAB DE CVCEMEX SAB DE CV NOTE 3.720% 3/1principal3,231,000$3.27M0
GOGO INCGOGO INC NOTE 3.750 3/0principal3,000,000$2.83M-5,378,000
WHITING PETE CORP NEWWHITING PETE CORP NEW NOTE 1.250% 4/0principal2,685,000$2.58M0
SOLARCITY CORPSOLARCITY CORP NOTE 2.750%11/0principal2,500,000$2.47M-3,000,000

Sold out in Q3 2018

Positions in the previous quarter's report that this quarter's report no longer lists.

SecurityShares beforeValue beforeType
VALEANT PHARMACEUTICALS INTLVALEANT PHARMACEUTICALS INTL1,760,000$40.9Mput
TESLA INCTESLA INC8,262,000$9.12Mprincipal
WEB.COM GROUP INCWEB.COM GROUP INC200,000$5.17Mput
GMEGAMESTOP CORP304,886$4.44Mshares
CARDTRONICS INCCARDTRONICS INC2,528,000$2.36Mprincipal
DHT HOLDINGS INCDHT HOLDINGS INC2,140,000$2.19Mprincipal
BKDBROOKDALE SR LIVING INC215,300$1.96Mput
VALEANT PHARMACEUTICALS INTLVALEANT PHARMACEUTICALS INTL60,000$1.39Mshares
FCXFREEPORT MCMORAN INC50,000$863Kshares
RITEAID CORPRITEAID CORP400,000$692Kcall
SANOFISANOFI1,366,585$683Kshares
BKDBROOKDALE SR LIVING INC43,060$391Kshares
ENERGEN CORPENERGEN CORP4,200$306Kput
RITEAID CORPRITEAID CORP75,000$130Kshares

How Q3 2018 was built

Available 13F filings of this filer for the quarter and their roles: the base report is the latest original or restatement, NEW HOLDINGS amendments filed after it are added (method).

FilingRoleAmendmentFiledAcceptedIngested
13F-HR 0001565772-18-000005 base2018-11-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set

Filings

Every filing of this filer: 13F reports and notices, the 13D and 13G it filed or is a reporting person of, and Forms 3, 4 and 5 it reported as an owner.

FilingSubjectFiledAcceptedIngested
13F-HR 0001565772-18-000005 Quarter ended 2018-09-302018-11-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-18-000004 Quarter ended 2018-06-302018-08-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-18-000003 Quarter ended 2018-03-312018-05-15acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-18-000001 Quarter ended 2017-12-312018-02-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-17-000005 Quarter ended 2017-09-302017-11-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR/A 0001565772-17-000006 Quarter ended 2017-09-302017-11-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-17-000004 Quarter ended 2017-06-302017-08-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-17-000003 Quarter ended 2017-03-312017-05-15acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-17-000001 Quarter ended 2016-12-312017-02-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-16-000011 Quarter ended 2016-09-302016-11-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-16-000010 Quarter ended 2016-06-302016-08-11acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-16-000009 Quarter ended 2016-03-312016-05-16acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-16-000006 Quarter ended 2015-12-312016-02-16acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-15-000005 Quarter ended 2015-09-302015-11-13acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-15-000004 Quarter ended 2015-06-302015-08-13acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-15-000003 Quarter ended 2015-03-312015-05-15acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-15-000002 Quarter ended 2014-12-312015-02-13acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-14-000006 Quarter ended 2014-09-302014-11-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-14-000005 Quarter ended 2014-06-302014-08-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-14-000004 Quarter ended 2014-03-312014-05-15acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-14-000002 Quarter ended 2013-12-312014-02-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-13-000010 Quarter ended 2013-09-302013-11-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set
13F-HR 0001565772-13-000008 Quarter ended 2013-06-302013-08-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set