Skip to content

RUTABAGA CAPITAL MANAGEMENT LLC/MA

Follow

13F filer, CIK 1128239, BOSTON, MA

RUTABAGA CAPITAL MANAGEMENT LLC/MA reported $217,353,000 across 50 holdings for the quarter ended 2021-03-31, in a 13F-HR filed 2021-05-11. Its ten largest share positions make up 37.96% of the portfolio.

Filed (acceptance time not in the bulk data set), ingested 13F-HR 0001144969-21-000006

Period
2021-03-31
Reported value
$217M
Holdings
50
Top 10 weight
37.96%
New
4
Sold out
2

Largest buys vs the previous quarter

SecurityShares changeApprox. value
CNDTnew+452,573$3.01M
MCSnew+110,000$2.2M
HERITAGE INSURANCE HOLDINGSadded+167,837$1.86M
TGLSadded+151,884$1.83M
MTRXadded+137,542$1.8M

Ranked by the share change valued at this quarter's implied price (value over shares in the 13F). A position sold out is valued at the previous quarter's price, its last report.

Largest sells vs the previous quarter

SecurityShares changeApprox. value
TBBKreduced-231,843-$4.8M
HOUGHTON MIFFLIN HARCOURT COreduced-550,101-$4.19M
BOOMreduced-59,330-$3.22M
CMCOexited-64,544-$2.48M
COOPER TIRE & RUBR COreduced-42,251-$2.37M

Ranked by the share change valued at this quarter's implied price (value over shares in the 13F). A position sold out is valued at the previous quarter's price, its last report.

Holdings, Q1 2021

Share positions as resolved from 13F-HR 0001144969-21-000006, largest first. % of portfolio is the value over $217,353,000, the sum of the share positions whose value is usable for ratios (method).

SecurityHistorySharesValue% of portfolioChangeLatest eventTimeline
TGLSTECNOGLASS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 682,730 shares; 2021Q1: 834,614 shares 834,614$10M4.62%+151,884Timeline
HERITAGE INSURANCE HOLDINGSHERITAGE INSURANCE HOLDINGSQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 724,821 shares; 2021Q1: 892,658 shares 892,658$9.89M4.55%+167,837
TBBKBANCORP INC DELQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 668,183 shares; 2021Q1: 436,340 shares 436,340$9.04M4.16%-231,843Timeline
BBCPCONCRETE PUMPING HLDGS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 1,273,904 shares; 2021Q1: 1,157,354 shares 1,157,354$8.58M3.95%-116,550Timeline
GREENHILL & CO INC COMGREENHILL & CO INC COMQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 378,697 shares; 2021Q1: 478,797 shares 478,797$7.89M3.63%+100,100
HILL INTERNATIONAL INCHILL INTERNATIONAL INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 2,452,326 shares; 2021Q1: 2,452,326 shares 2,452,326$7.85M3.61%0
GP STRATEGIES CORPGP STRATEGIES CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 399,692 shares; 2021Q1: 444,359 shares 444,359$7.75M3.57%+44,667
MANITEX INTL INCMANITEX INTL INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 856,207 shares; 2021Q1: 937,754 shares 937,754$7.4M3.4%+81,547
HOUGHTON MIFFLIN HARCOURT COHOUGHTON MIFFLIN HARCOURT COQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 1,496,100 shares; 2021Q1: 945,999 shares 945,999$7.21M3.32%-550,101
MTRXMATRIX SVC COQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 386,662 shares; 2021Q1: 524,204 shares 524,204$6.87M3.16%+137,542Timeline
VRAVERA BRADLEY INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 644,624 shares; 2021Q1: 644,624 shares 644,624$6.51M3%0Timeline
TITNTITAN MACHY INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 251,444 shares; 2021Q1: 251,444 shares 251,444$6.41M2.95%0Timeline
PC TEL INCPC TEL INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 705,033 shares; 2021Q1: 913,552 shares 913,552$6.35M2.92%+208,519
FSTRFOSTER L B COQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 344,590 shares; 2021Q1: 344,590 shares 344,590$6.17M2.84%0Timeline
TRECORA RESTRECORA RESQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 715,290 shares; 2021Q1: 785,202 shares 785,202$6.1M2.81%+69,912
STRTSTRATTEC SEC CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 96,926 shares; 2021Q1: 123,949 shares 123,949$5.81M2.67%+27,023Timeline
CRWSCROWN CRAFTS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 621,968 shares; 2021Q1: 740,450 shares 740,450$5.72M2.63%+118,482Timeline
NTICNORTHERN TECHNOLOGIES INTL CQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 341,931 shares; 2021Q1: 341,931 shares 341,931$5.2M2.39%0Timeline
QAD INC-AQAD INC-AQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 77,050 shares; 2021Q1: 77,050 shares 77,050$5.13M2.36%0
UMHUMH PPTYS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 223,711 shares; 2021Q1: 223,711 shares 223,711$4.29M1.97%0Timeline
GEOSGEOSPACE TECHNOLOGIES CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 412,412 shares; 2021Q1: 412,412 shares 412,412$3.76M1.73%0Timeline
GVAGRANITE CONSTR INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 92,282 shares; 2021Q1: 88,882 shares 88,882$3.58M1.65%-3,400Timeline
MTWMANITOWOC CO INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 176,841 shares; 2021Q1: 170,341 shares 170,341$3.51M1.62%-6,500Timeline
MATWMATTHEWS INTL CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 91,953 shares; 2021Q1: 88,603 shares 88,603$3.5M1.61%-3,350Timeline
DVNDEVON ENERGY CORP NEWQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 163,535 shares; 2021Q1: 157,585 shares 157,585$3.44M1.58%-5,950Timeline
VREXVAREX IMAGING CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 168,721 shares; 2021Q1: 166,571 shares 166,571$3.41M1.57%-2,150Timeline
TEXTAINER GROUP HOLDINGS LTDTEXTAINER GROUP HOLDINGS LTDQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 120,764 shares; 2021Q1: 116,314 shares 116,314$3.33M1.53%-4,450
THRTHERMON GROUP HLDGS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 169,902 shares; 2021Q1: 167,752 shares 167,752$3.27M1.5%-2,150Timeline
WNCWABASH NATL CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 127,588 shares; 2021Q1: 165,000 shares 165,000$3.1M1.43%+37,412Timeline
CARSCARS COM INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 238,077 shares; 2021Q1: 234,377 shares 234,377$3.04M1.4%-3,700Timeline
CNDTCONDUENT INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: not reported; 2021Q1: 452,573 shares 452,573$3.01M1.39%newTimeline
NATUS MEDICAL INCNATUS MEDICAL INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 120,631 shares; 2021Q1: 116,181 shares 116,181$2.98M1.37%-4,450
MPAAMOTORCAR PTS AMER INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 109,871 shares; 2021Q1: 132,171 shares 132,171$2.97M1.37%+22,300Timeline
LXFRLUXFER HLDGS PLCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 144,223 shares; 2021Q1: 139,023 shares 139,023$2.96M1.36%-5,200Timeline
CONTAINER STORE GROUP INCCONTAINER STORE GROUP INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 215,120 shares; 2021Q1: 167,520 shares 167,520$2.79M1.28%-47,600
UISUNISYS CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 127,691 shares; 2021Q1: 106,041 shares 106,041$2.7M1.24%-21,650Timeline
ALOTASTRONOVA INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 113,856 shares; 2021Q1: 197,123 shares 197,123$2.64M1.22%+83,267Timeline
ANDEANDERSONS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 96,973 shares; 2021Q1: 93,473 shares 93,473$2.56M1.18%-3,500Timeline
ACAARCOSA INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 39,884 shares; 2021Q1: 38,434 shares 38,434$2.5M1.15%-1,450Timeline
BBSIBARRETT BUSINESS SVCS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 30,106 shares; 2021Q1: 36,206 shares 36,206$2.49M1.15%+6,100Timeline
BOOMDMC GLOBAL INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 105,277 shares; 2021Q1: 45,947 shares 45,947$2.49M1.15%-59,330Timeline
AZZAZZ INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 51,174 shares; 2021Q1: 49,274 shares 49,274$2.48M1.14%-1,900Timeline
HCSGHEALTHCARE SVCS GROUP INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 91,414 shares; 2021Q1: 88,064 shares 88,064$2.47M1.14%-3,350Timeline
MCSMARCUS CORP DELQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: not reported; 2021Q1: 110,000 shares 110,000$2.2M1.01%newTimeline
CRD-ACRAWFORD & COQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 210,662 shares; 2021Q1: 201,412 shares 201,412$2.15M0.99%-9,250Timeline
LINDLINDBLAD EXPEDITIONS HLDGS IQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 185,968 shares; 2021Q1: 72,489 shares 72,489$1.37M0.63%-113,479Timeline
CRD-BCRAWFORD & COQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 109,193 shares; 2021Q1: 106,893 shares 106,893$1.04M0.48%-2,300Timeline
COOPER TIRE & RUBR COCOOPER TIRE & RUBR COQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: 58,311 shares; 2021Q1: 16,060 shares 16,060$899K0.41%-42,251
INVACARE CORPINVACARE CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: not reported; 2021Q1: 33,042 shares 33,042$265K0.12%new
MJDLFMAJOR DRILLING GRP INTL INC(F)Quarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2019Q2: restricted; 2019Q3: restricted; 2019Q4: restricted; 2020Q1: restricted; 2020Q2: restricted; 2020Q3: restricted; 2020Q4: not reported; 2021Q1: 46,200 shares 46,200$239K0.11%newTimeline

Sold out in Q1 2021

Positions in the previous quarter's report that this quarter's report no longer lists.

SecurityShares beforeValue beforeType
CMCOCOLUMBUS MCKINNON CORP N Y64,544$2.48Mshares
HOUSTON WIRE & CABLE COHOUSTON WIRE & CABLE CO457,194$1.28Mshares

How Q1 2021 was built

Available 13F filings of this filer for the quarter and their roles: the base report is the latest original or restatement, NEW HOLDINGS amendments filed after it are added (method).

FilingRoleAmendmentFiledAcceptedIngested
13F-HR 0001144969-21-000006 base2021-05-11acceptance time not in the bulk data set