Skip to content

CONTRARIAN CAPITAL MANAGEMENT, L.L.C.

Follow

13F filer, CIK 1050417, Greenwich, CT

CONTRARIAN CAPITAL MANAGEMENT, L.L.C. reported $396,305,636 across 36 holdings for the quarter ended 2025-09-30, in a 13F-HR filed 2025-11-13. Its ten largest share positions make up 88.15% of the portfolio.

Filed (acceptance time not in the bulk data set), ingested 13F-HR 0000919574-25-006672

Period
2025-09-30
Reported value
$396M
Holdings
36
Top 10 weight
88.15%
New
7
Sold out
5

Largest buys vs the previous quarter

SecurityShares changeApprox. value
BABAnew+143,760$25.7M
BURadded+1,488,250$17.8M
BIDUnew+102,139$13.5M
UNITnew+454,810$2.78M
CCOadded+1,069,257$1.69M

Ranked by the share change valued at this quarter's implied price (value over shares in the 13F). A position sold out is valued at the previous quarter's price, its last report.

Largest sells vs the previous quarter

SecurityShares changeApprox. value
PBRexited-1,928,173-$24.1M
ASTLreduced-1,534,332-$5.45M
VIPER ENERGY INC-CL Aexited-32,114-$1.22M
SABRreduced-480,000-$878K
Leslie's Incexited-887,112-$372K

Ranked by the share change valued at this quarter's implied price (value over shares in the 13F). A position sold out is valued at the previous quarter's price, its last report.

Holdings, Q3 2025

Share positions as resolved from 13F-HR 0000919574-25-006672, largest first. % of portfolio is the value over $396,305,636, the sum of the share positions whose value is usable for ratios (method).

SecurityHistorySharesValue% of portfolioChangeLatest eventTimeline
HSBCHSBC HLDGS PLCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: not reported; 2024Q4: 240,876 shares; 2025Q1: 1,265,656 shares; 2025Q2: 1,265,656 shares; 2025Q3: 1,265,656 shares 1,265,656$89.8M22.67%0Timeline
GGBGERDAU SAQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 20,276,940 shares; 2024Q4: 19,219,112 shares; 2025Q1: 19,219,112 shares; 2025Q2: 19,069,112 shares; 2025Q3: 19,069,112 shares 19,069,112$59.1M14.92%0Timeline
BURBURFORD CAPITAL LIMITEDQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: not reported; 2024Q4: not reported; 2025Q1: 2,466,748 shares; 2025Q2: 2,556,748 shares; 2025Q3: 4,044,998 shares 4,044,998$48.4M12.21%+1,488,250Timeline
VALEVALE S AQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 2,161,732 shares; 2024Q4: 3,686,411 shares; 2025Q1: 3,686,411 shares; 2025Q2: 3,551,171 shares; 2025Q3: 3,551,171 shares 3,551,171$38.6M9.73%0Timeline
TXTERNIUM SAQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 1,013,367 shares; 2024Q4: 992,413 shares; 2025Q1: 992,413 shares; 2025Q2: 992,413 shares; 2025Q3: 992,413 shares 992,413$34.5M8.7%0Timeline
BABAALIBABA GROUP HLDG LTDQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: not reported; 2024Q4: not reported; 2025Q1: not reported; 2025Q2: not reported; 2025Q3: 143,760 shares 143,760$25.7M6.48%newTimeline
CNRCORE NATURAL RESOURCES INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: not reported; 2024Q4: not reported; 2025Q1: 219,243 shares; 2025Q2: 219,243 shares; 2025Q3: 219,243 shares 219,243$18.3M4.62%0Timeline
LITHIUM ARGENTINA AGLITHIUM ARGENTINA AGQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: not reported; 2024Q4: 12,500,000 shares; 2025Q1: 16,000,000 shares; 2025Q2: 16,000,000 shares; 2025Q3: 16,000,000 shares 16,000,000$14.3M3.6%0
BIDUBAIDU INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: not reported; 2024Q4: not reported; 2025Q1: not reported; 2025Q2: not reported; 2025Q3: 102,139 shares 102,139$13.5M3.4%newTimeline
ASTLALGOMA STL GROUP INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 3,623,198 shares; 2024Q4: 3,572,018 shares; 2025Q1: 3,572,018 shares; 2025Q2: 3,572,018 shares; 2025Q3: 2,037,686 shares 2,037,686$7.24M1.83%-1,534,332Timeline
EEXEMERALD HOLDING INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 783,007 shares; 2024Q4: 790,885 shares; 2025Q1: 818,862 shares; 2025Q2: 783,862 shares; 2025Q3: 879,000 shares 879,000$4.47M1.13%+95,138Timeline
CCOCLEAR CHANNEL OUTDOOR HLDGSQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 1,597,614 shares; 2024Q4: 1,597,614 shares; 2025Q1: 1,452,614 shares; 2025Q2: 1,452,614 shares; 2025Q3: 2,521,871 shares 2,521,871$3.98M1.01%+1,069,257Timeline
CZRCAESARS ENTERTAINMENT INC NEQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 117,500 shares; 2024Q4: 118,000 shares; 2025Q1: 119,500 shares; 2025Q2: 119,500 shares; 2025Q3: 145,500 shares 145,500$3.93M0.99%+26,000Timeline
MMACYS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 200,000 shares; 2024Q4: 200,000 shares; 2025Q1: 200,000 shares; 2025Q2: 200,000 shares; 2025Q3: 200,000 shares 200,000$3.59M0.9%0Timeline
NCMINATIONAL CINEMEDIA INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 819,559 shares; 2024Q4: 739,899 shares; 2025Q1: 739,899 shares; 2025Q2: 739,899 shares; 2025Q3: 739,899 shares 739,899$3.34M0.84%0Timeline
PCGPG&E CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: not reported; 2024Q4: not reported; 2025Q1: 150,000 shares; 2025Q2: 200,000 shares; 2025Q3: 200,000 shares 200,000$3.02M0.76%0Timeline
UNITUNITI GROUP LLCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: not reported; 2024Q4: not reported; 2025Q1: not reported; 2025Q2: not reported; 2025Q3: 454,810 shares 454,810$2.78M0.7%newTimeline
BVBRIGHTVIEW HLDGS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 248,621 shares; 2024Q4: 237,621 shares; 2025Q1: 204,566 shares; 2025Q2: 206,566 shares; 2025Q3: 197,000 shares 197,000$2.64M0.67%-9,566Timeline
ADVADVANTAGE SOLUTIONS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 1,279,631 shares; 2024Q4: 1,278,140 shares; 2025Q1: 1,451,140 shares; 2025Q2: 1,611,140 shares; 2025Q3: 1,700,000 shares 1,700,000$2.6M0.66%+88,860Timeline
CNTYCENTURY CASINOS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 889,144 shares; 2024Q4: 889,144 shares; 2025Q1: 889,144 shares; 2025Q2: 889,144 shares; 2025Q3: 889,144 shares 889,144$2.32M0.59%0Timeline
PBIPITNEY BOWES INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 209,000 shares; 2024Q4: 203,000 shares; 2025Q1: 180,000 shares; 2025Q2: 160,000 shares; 2025Q3: 159,000 shares 159,000$1.81M0.46%-1,000Timeline
NENOBLE CORP PLCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 41,500 shares; 2024Q4: 60,000 shares; 2025Q1: 60,000 shares; 2025Q2: 60,000 shares; 2025Q3: 60,000 shares 60,000$1.7M0.43%0Timeline
VALVALARIS LTDQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 75,000 shares; 2024Q4: 50,000 shares; 2025Q1: 31,434 shares; 2025Q2: 31,434 shares; 2025Q3: 31,434 shares 31,434$1.53M0.39%0Timeline
CLFCLEVELAND-CLIFFS INC NEWQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 115,000 shares; 2024Q4: 115,000 shares; 2025Q1: 115,000 shares; 2025Q2: 115,000 shares; 2025Q3: 115,000 shares 115,000$1.4M0.35%0Timeline
VNOMVIPER ENERGY INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: not reported; 2024Q4: not reported; 2025Q1: not reported; 2025Q2: not reported; 2025Q3: 32,114 shares 32,114$1.23M0.31%newTimeline
NATLNCR ATLEOS CORPORATIONQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 30,500 shares; 2024Q4: 27,000 shares; 2025Q1: 30,000 shares; 2025Q2: 29,000 shares; 2025Q3: 28,500 shares 28,500$1.12M0.28%-500Timeline
PRKSUNITED PARKS & RESORTS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 21,000 shares; 2024Q4: 19,500 shares; 2025Q1: 21,500 shares; 2025Q2: 22,500 shares; 2025Q3: 21,500 shares 21,500$1.11M0.28%-1,000Timeline
WWWW INTL INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: not reported; 2024Q4: not reported; 2025Q1: not reported; 2025Q2: not reported; 2025Q3: 28,091 shares 28,091$769K0.19%newTimeline
VYXNCR VOYIX CORPORATIONQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 51,000 shares; 2024Q4: 51,000 shares; 2025Q1: 47,000 shares; 2025Q2: 47,000 shares; 2025Q3: 48,000 shares 48,000$602K0.15%+1,000Timeline
UNFIUNITED NAT FOODS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: not reported; 2024Q4: not reported; 2025Q1: not reported; 2025Q2: not reported; 2025Q3: 14,500 shares 14,500$545K0.14%newTimeline
SKILSKILLSOFT CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 45,000 shares; 2024Q4: 37,500 shares; 2025Q1: 34,500 shares; 2025Q2: 34,500 shares; 2025Q3: 41,500 shares 41,500$540K0.14%+7,000Timeline
MBCMASTERBRAND INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: not reported; 2024Q4: 26,000 shares; 2025Q1: 28,000 shares; 2025Q2: 24,000 shares; 2025Q3: 33,000 shares 33,000$435K0.11%+9,000Timeline
SABRSABRE CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 675,000 shares; 2024Q4: 685,000 shares; 2025Q1: 705,000 shares; 2025Q2: 705,000 shares; 2025Q3: 225,000 shares 225,000$412K0.1%-480,000Timeline
AMBPARDAGH METAL PACKAGING S AQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 250,000 shares; 2024Q4: 128,000 shares; 2025Q1: 150,000 shares; 2025Q2: 90,000 shares; 2025Q3: 95,000 shares 95,000$379K0.1%+5,000Timeline
MATMATTEL INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: 11,000 shares; 2024Q4: 21,000 shares; 2025Q1: 21,000 shares; 2025Q2: 20,000 shares; 2025Q3: 22,000 shares 22,000$370K0.09%+2,000Timeline
HSICSCHEIN HENRY INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2023Q4: restricted; 2024Q1: restricted; 2024Q2: restricted; 2024Q3: not reported; 2024Q4: not reported; 2025Q1: not reported; 2025Q2: not reported; 2025Q3: 5,000 shares 5,000$332K0.08%newTimeline

Sold out in Q3 2025

Positions in the previous quarter's report that this quarter's report no longer lists.

SecurityShares beforeValue beforeType
PBRPETROLEO BRASILEIRO S A1,928,173$24.1Mshares
VIPER ENERGY INC-CL AVIPER ENERGY INC-CL A32,114$1.22Mshares
Leslie's IncLeslie's Inc887,112$372Kshares
MAGNMAGNERA CORP28,000$338Kshares
ONON SEMICONDUCTOR CORP5,500$288Kshares

How Q3 2025 was built

Available 13F filings of this filer for the quarter and their roles: the base report is the latest original or restatement, NEW HOLDINGS amendments filed after it are added (method).

FilingRoleAmendmentFiledAcceptedIngested
13F-HR 0000919574-25-006672 base2025-11-13acceptance time not in the bulk data set