Skip to content

ASA Gold & Precious Metals Ltd

Follow

13F filer, CIK 1230869, Portland, ME

ASA Gold & Precious Metals Ltd reported $117,318,000 across 16 holdings for the quarter ended 2019-09-30, in a 13F-HR filed 2019-11-14. Its ten largest share positions make up 84.24% of the portfolio.

Filed (acceptance time not in the bulk data set), ingested 13F-HR 0000950123-19-011266

Period
2019-09-30
Reported value
$117M
Holdings
16
Top 10 weight
84.24%
New
1
Sold out
2

Largest buys vs the previous quarter

SecurityShares changeApprox. value
AMERICAS GOLD AND SILVER CORnew+1,345,000$3.37M
GOLDEN STAR RES LTD CDAadded+870,479$2.04M
MAVERIX METALS INCadded+500,000$1.52M
RGLDadded+220,000$1.15M

Ranked by the share change valued at this quarter's implied price (value over shares in the 13F). A position sold out is valued at the previous quarter's price, its last report.

Largest sells vs the previous quarter

SecurityShares changeApprox. value
BVNexited-400,000-$6.67M
NEMreduced-150,000-$5.69M
BARRICK GOLD CORPreduced-200,000-$3.47M
IAGexited-675,000-$2.28M
FNVreduced-10,000-$912K

Ranked by the share change valued at this quarter's implied price (value over shares in the 13F). A position sold out is valued at the previous quarter's price, its last report.

Holdings, Q3 2019

Share positions as resolved from 13F-HR 0000950123-19-011266, largest first. % of portfolio is the value over $117,318,000, the sum of the share positions whose value is usable for ratios (method).

SecurityHistorySharesValue% of portfolioChangeLatest eventTimeline
AEMAGNICO EAGLE MINES LTDQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: 450,000 shares; 2018Q1: 450,000 shares; 2018Q2: 450,000 shares; 2018Q3: 450,000 shares; 2018Q4: 450,000 shares; 2019Q1: 450,000 shares; 2019Q2: 400,000 shares; 2019Q3: 400,000 shares 400,000$21.4M18.28%0Timeline
BARRICK GOLD CORPBARRICK GOLD CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: 1,125,000 shares; 2018Q1: 1,125,000 shares; 2018Q2: 1,125,000 shares; 2018Q3: 1,125,000 shares; 2018Q4: 2,528,925 shares; 2019Q1: 2,278,924 shares; 2019Q2: 1,200,000 shares; 2019Q3: 1,000,000 shares 1,000,000$17.3M14.79%-200,000
BTGB2GOLD CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: 1,594,338 shares; 2018Q1: 1,594,338 shares; 2018Q2: 1,594,338 shares; 2018Q3: 1,594,338 shares; 2018Q4: 1,594,338 shares; 2019Q1: 1,594,338 shares; 2019Q2: 3,000,000 shares; 2019Q3: 3,000,000 shares 3,000,000$9.79M8.34%0Timeline
NEMNEWMONT CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: 570,368 shares; 2018Q1: 570,368 shares; 2018Q2: 570,368 shares; 2018Q3: 570,368 shares; 2018Q4: 570,368 shares; 2019Q1: 570,368 shares; 2019Q2: 400,000 shares; 2019Q3: 250,000 shares 250,000$9.48M8.08%-150,000Timeline
AGIALAMOS GOLD INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: 875,000 shares; 2018Q1: 875,000 shares; 2018Q2: 875,000 shares; 2018Q3: 875,000 shares; 2018Q4: 875,000 shares; 2019Q1: 875,000 shares; 2019Q2: 1,500,000 shares; 2019Q3: 1,500,000 shares 1,500,000$8.74M7.45%0Timeline
SSRMSSR MINING INQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: not reported; 2018Q1: not reported; 2018Q2: not reported; 2018Q3: not reported; 2018Q4: not reported; 2019Q1: 100,000 shares; 2019Q2: 600,000 shares; 2019Q3: 600,000 shares 600,000$8.72M7.44%0Timeline
PRETIUM RESOURCES INCPRETIUM RESOURCES INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: 725,000 shares; 2018Q1: 725,000 shares; 2018Q2: 725,000 shares; 2018Q3: 725,000 shares; 2018Q4: 725,000 shares; 2019Q1: 725,000 shares; 2019Q2: 725,000 shares; 2019Q3: 725,000 shares 725,000$8.35M7.11%0
MAVERIX METALS INCMAVERIX METALS INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: not reported; 2018Q1: not reported; 2018Q2: not reported; 2018Q3: not reported; 2018Q4: not reported; 2019Q1: not reported; 2019Q2: 1,500,000 shares; 2019Q3: 2,000,000 shares 2,000,000$6.07M5.18%+500,000
FNVFRANCO NEV CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: 160,000 shares; 2018Q1: 160,000 shares; 2018Q2: 160,000 shares; 2018Q3: 160,000 shares; 2018Q4: 160,000 shares; 2019Q1: 160,000 shares; 2019Q2: 60,000 shares; 2019Q3: 50,000 shares 50,000$4.56M3.89%-10,000Timeline
GOLDEN STAR RES LTD CDAGOLDEN STAR RES LTD CDAQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: not reported; 2018Q1: not reported; 2018Q2: not reported; 2018Q3: not reported; 2018Q4: not reported; 2019Q1: 580,000 shares; 2019Q2: 979,521 shares; 2019Q3: 1,850,000 shares 1,850,000$4.33M3.69%+870,479
KGCKINROSS GOLD CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: 800,000 shares; 2018Q1: 800,000 shares; 2018Q2: 800,000 shares; 2018Q3: 800,000 shares; 2018Q4: 800,000 shares; 2019Q1: 800,000 shares; 2019Q2: 800,000 shares; 2019Q3: 800,000 shares 800,000$3.69M3.15%0Timeline
MAG SILVER CORPMAG SILVER CORPQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: 325,000 shares; 2018Q1: 325,000 shares; 2018Q2: 325,000 shares; 2018Q3: 325,000 shares; 2018Q4: 325,000 shares; 2019Q1: 325,000 shares; 2019Q2: 325,000 shares; 2019Q3: 325,000 shares 325,000$3.45M2.94%0
AMERICAS GOLD AND SILVER CORAMERICAS GOLD AND SILVER CORQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: not reported; 2018Q1: not reported; 2018Q2: not reported; 2018Q3: not reported; 2018Q4: not reported; 2019Q1: not reported; 2019Q2: not reported; 2019Q3: 1,345,000 shares 1,345,000$3.37M2.87%new
KIRKLAND LAKE GOLD LTDKIRKLAND LAKE GOLD LTDQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: not reported; 2018Q1: not reported; 2018Q2: not reported; 2018Q3: not reported; 2018Q4: not reported; 2019Q1: not reported; 2019Q2: 75,000 shares; 2019Q3: 75,000 shares 75,000$3.37M2.87%0
GFIGOLD FIELDS LTDQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: not reported; 2018Q1: not reported; 2018Q2: not reported; 2018Q3: not reported; 2018Q4: not reported; 2019Q1: not reported; 2019Q2: 670,423 shares; 2019Q3: 670,423 shares 670,423$3.3M2.81%0Timeline
RGLDROYAL GOLD INCQuarterly shares; oldest to newest; scale is this security's eight-quarter maximum; 2017Q4: 190,000 shares; 2018Q1: 190,000 shares; 2018Q2: 190,000 shares; 2018Q3: 165,000 shares; 2018Q4: 165,000 shares; 2019Q1: 150,000 shares; 2019Q2: 30,000 shares; 2019Q3: 250,000 shares 250,000$1.31M1.11%+220,000Timeline

Sold out in Q3 2019

Positions in the previous quarter's report that this quarter's report no longer lists.

SecurityShares beforeValue beforeType
BVNCOMPANIA DE MINAS BUENAVENTU400,000$6.67Mshares
IAGIAMGOLD CORP675,000$2.28Mshares

How Q3 2019 was built

Available 13F filings of this filer for the quarter and their roles: the base report is the latest original or restatement, NEW HOLDINGS amendments filed after it are added (method).

FilingRoleAmendmentFiledAcceptedIngested
13F-HR 0000950123-19-011266 base2019-11-14acceptance time not in the bulk data set